The Town of Comox uses eight main zoning designations that govern how land can be used:

  • Residential Zones – Includes single-family, two-family and mobile home zones
  • Multi-Family Residential Zones – Includes patio home, townhouse and apartment zones
  • Commercial Zones – Includes neighbourhood commercial, general commercial and core commercial zones
  • Marine Zones – Includes marine recreation and marine commercial zones
  • Industrial Zones – Includes light industrial and aeronautical industrial zones
  • Park Zones – Includes park and public golf course zones
  • Institutional Zones – Includes public assembly zones
  • Agricultural Zones – Includes agricultural zones

In addition to specifying permitted uses of each zone, the Zoning Bylaw also regulates numerous elements such as conditions of permitted uses, parking requirements, minimum setbacks, building height, and accessory buildings.  If a development project differs from the use or density of the property shown in the Zoning bylaw, the project would need a zoning amendment process to change the use or density permitted on the property.

The Zoning bylaw also contains a set of general regulations applicable to the entire Town. These include regulations regarding fences, visual clearance at intersections, swimming pools, and non permanent structures. For more information see the Town of Comox, Zoning Bylaw 1850.  

For the location of each zone or to find out the zoning of a specific property, review the Town of Comox Zoning Map  or contact the Planning Staff.