Development Cost Charges

Development Cost Charges (DCCs) are used by local governments to assist with the capital costs of installing infrastructure for certain local government services at the time land is developed. The Town of Comox uses six classifications to determine DCCs based on the type of development proposed:

  • Single Family Residential
  • Multi Family Residential
  • Congregate Care Facility
  • Commercial
  • Institutional
  • Industrial

The Town of Comox collects DCCs related to the following local government services:

  • Roads
  • Storm Drainage
  • Sanitary Sewer
  • Waterworks
  • Parkland

In addition to the DCCs collected by the Town of Comox, the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) also charges DCCs for Sanitary Sewers and Waterworks. These charges are bundled with the Town’s DCCs and are payable to the Town of Comox either upon subdivision or upon issuance of a building permit.

A detailed fee schedule for both Town of Comox and CVRD DCCs is available here: Synopsis of DCCs (PDF).

For any further questions regarding DCCs, please contact the Planning Department at (250) 339-1118.

Payment of DCCs by Instalments

The Town of Comox allows developers of large projects with aggregate DCCs of $50,000 or more to pay in instalments. Details regarding payment periods, interest and payment amounts are described here: Payment of DCCs by Instalments (PDF).